About account deactivation

When a WhatsApp account is deactivated, this means the account is temporarily disabled. The WhatsApp account will be deleted 30 days after deactivation if the account isn’t re-registered.
If your phone is lost or stolen, ask your mobile provider to block your SIM to deactivate your WhatsApp account. Your account will be deactivated until you re-register with a new phone and SIM card.
When an account is deactivated
  • Your contacts can still see your profile.
  • Your contacts can send you messages, which will remain in a pending state for up to 30 days.
  • If you don't activate your account within 30 days, it’ll be completely deleted.
Re-registering a deactivated account
If you re-register your account before it’s deleted, you’ll:
  • Receive any pending messages on your new phone.
  • Remain in all of your group chats.
  • Have an option to restore your data. Learn how to restore your chat history in this article.
Related resources
Does this answer your question?
Yes
No