How to deactivate a community
Web and Desktop
You can deactivate a community for all members if you’re the community creator.
When you deactivate a community, all the groups you and other members belong to will be unlinked from the community and can be found in the Chats tab. No one will be able to send messages in Announcements.
Deactivate a community
- Open the community you want to deactivate.
- Click the community.
- Navigate to the bottom of the screen.
- Click Deactivate community > Deactivate.
- Only the admin who created the community can deactivate the community for everyone.
- When a community is successfully deactivated, all groups will be unlinked from the community.
- Excluding Announcements, groups that are unlinked from the community will continue to operate as a regular group in the Chats tab.
- If you deactivate your WhatsApp account, your communities and Announcements groups will also be deactivated. Community admins and members will be removed from the community and Announcements group.
- There’s no way to reactivate a deactivated community.