How to exit a group
Web and Desktop
When you exit a group, only group admins will be notified of your exit. No one else in a group chat will be notified. This feature aims to help users feel more comfortable about exiting groups they no longer wish to be in.
Once you exit a group, your chosen profile name and phone number will be shown in the Past Participants list in Group Info. Depending on your settings, your profile picture might also be displayed. Your information can be seen in this list by group participants, for up to 60 days from the time you left the group.
Exit a group
- Open the group chat that you wish to leave.
- Click Menu.
- Click Exit group > Exit group.