How to exit and delete groups

Android
iOS
KaiOS
Web and Desktop
Windows
Mac
You can delete a group for all members if you’re the group admin. Before you can delete a group you must remove all group members, and then exit the group.

What happens when you remove a group member or delete a group

When you delete a group, you won’t see the group in your Chats list. The group chat history will also be erased from your phone.
Removing a member or deleting a group will not delete the group on other members’ devices. Other members will still see the group in their Chats list and see all previous content unless they delete it themselves. No one will be able to send messages.
It's not possible to restore a group once it's been deleted.

Remove group members

Before you can exit and delete a group, you’ll need to remove all group members.
  1. Open the WhatsApp group chat, then press Options > Group info.
  2. Select the member you want to remove.
  3. Press Options > Remove from group > Remove.

Exit a group

In order to delete a group, you first need to exit the group.
When you exit a group, only group admins will be notified.
Your profile name and phone number will be shown in the Past members list in Group Info. Your profile photo may also be shown, depending on your settings.
Group members can see your information in this list for up to 60 days after you leave the group.
Note: If you’re the only group admin and leave the group, another member is chosen at random to become the new admin. If you rejoin the group and would like to be an admin again, you need to ask the group admin to make you one.
  1. Open the WhatsApp group chat, then press Options > Group info.
    • Alternatively, select the group in your chats list. Then press Options.
  2. Press Exit group > Exit.

Delete a group

After you remove all members and exit a group, you have the option to delete the group.
  1. Open the WhatsApp group chat, then press Options > Group info > Delete group.
    • Alternatively, select the group in your Chats list. Then press Options > Delete.
  2. Press OK.

Does this answer your question?

Да
Не