About view once

For added privacy, you can now send photos and videos that disappear from your WhatsApp chat after the recipient has opened them once. To use view once, please update WhatsApp to the latest version available for your device.
  • Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery.
  • Once you send a view once photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again.
  • You can’t forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with view once media enabled.
  • You can only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
  • If you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
  • You must select view once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.
  • View once media can be restored from backup if the message is unopened at the time of back up. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.
Note:
  • Only send photos or videos with view once media enabled to trusted individuals. For example, it's possible for someone to:
    • Take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. You won’t be notified if someone takes a screenshot or screen recording.
    • Take a photo or video of the media with a camera or other device before it disappears.
  • Encrypted media may be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp’s servers after you’ve sent it.
  • If a recipient chooses to report view once media, the media will be provided to WhatsApp. You can find out more about reporting messages on WhatsApp in this article.
Related resources:
How to send and open view once media on: Android | iPhone | KaiOS | Web and Desktop
Does this answer your question?
Yes
No