How to delete your account

Android
iOS
KaiOS
You can delete your account from within WhatsApp.
Deleting your account is irreversible. We can’t reverse this even if you delete it by accident.
Note: You can only delete your account from your primary device, not from linked devices.

To delete your account

  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Go to Settings > Account > Delete My Account.
  3. Enter your phone number in full international format and tap Delete My Account.

Deleting your account will:

  • Delete your account info and profile photo.
  • Delete you from all WhatsApp groups.
  • Delete your WhatsApp message history backup.
  • Remove you as a channel admin or follower, but not delete any updates you made or channel interactions like reactions or poll votes.
  • Delete any channels you created if there aren’t additional channel admins.

If you delete your account:

  • You can't regain access to your account.
  • It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete your WhatsApp information. Copies of your information may also remain after the 90 days in the backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. Your information isn't available to you on WhatsApp during this time.
  • It doesn't affect your information related to the groups you created or the information other users have relating to you. For example, their copy of the messages you sent them.
  • We may retain certain log data in our databases even after you delete your account, but such data will be disassociated from any identifying information such that it can no longer be linked to your account. To do this we regularly wipe certain identifying information from this log data. We also replace any instance of your account ID with a replacement identifier which can't be linked back to your account once it is deleted.
  • We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts.
  • Please refer to our Privacy Policy for more information.
  • Your information shared with other Meta Companies will also be deleted.
If contacts are still seeing you as a WhatsApp user after you’ve deleted your account, ask them to restart WhatsApp.
This will refresh their WhatsApp contacts and you should be removed from their contacts list. This won’t delete their chats with you, though.

WhatsApp Channels

To keep your channel active, be sure to add additional admins before deleting your account. If you delete your account without additional admins on your channel, your channel will be permanently deleted.
Channel deletion doesn’t delete your previous channel activity from your followers’ devices.

If you own a WhatsApp channel:

  • If you want to delete your channel and your WhatsApp account, delete your channel first.
  • Your channel and channel updates may not be deleted automatically.
    • If you have other channel admins, channel ownership will transfer to the admin who has followed the channel longest.
    • If you're the only channel admin, your channel will be deleted. Deleting your channel is permanent and means:
      • You won’t be able to share updates from it again.
      • You won’t be able to recover the channel or follower list.
      • Existing updates are still visible to followers but non-followers won’t be able to find your channel or view updates. If you want to delete updates you shared in a channel, learn how to delete updates.

If you’re a channel admin:

  • Updates you’ve shared in channels aren’t deleted. If you want to delete updates you made in a channel, learn how to delete updates.

Related resources:

Related resources:

Does this answer your question?

Ha
Yo‘q