How to delete messages

Android
iPhone
KaiOS
Web and Desktop
Windows
You can delete messages just for yourself or request that messages be deleted for everyone. If you want to edit a message instead, you can for up to 15 minutes after sending. Learn more about how to edit messages.
Delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you've sent to an individual or group chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake. As a group admin, you can remove problematic messages sent by other participants in the chat.
Messages you've sent that are deleted for everyone will be replaced with:
"This message was deleted"
To delete messages you've sent for everyone
  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
    • If prompted, tap More
      > choose Delete from the menu.
  3. Tap Delete
    > Delete for Everyone.
Group admins can delete messages sent by another group participant. This enables admins to manage their private groups and communities by deleting inappropriate messages or media for all members. When an admin deletes a message for everyone, it will be replaced with:
“This message was deleted by admin [admin name]”
To delete a message sent by another group participant
  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message.
  3. Tap Delete
    > Delete for Everyone > Delete.
Note:
  • You and the message recipients must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
  • Recipients using WhatsApp for iOS might still have media you sent saved to their Photos, even after the message is deleted from the WhatsApp chat.
  • Recipients might see your message before it's deleted or if deletion wasn’t successful.
  • You won’t be notified if deleting for everyone wasn’t successful.
  • You have about 2 days after you’ve sent a message to request to Delete for Everyone.
  • Only group admins can delete messages sent by other group participants.
  • Group admins have about 2 days after someone else sends a message to request to Delete for Everyone.
  • Group participants will be able to see which admin chose to Delete for Everyone.
  • Messages deleted by a group admin are not recoverable and can't be appealed.
Delete messages for yourself
You can delete your copy of messages you've sent or received from your phone. This has no impact on your recipients' chats. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen.
  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > then tap Delete
    > Delete for Me. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
Note: After choosing Delete for Me, you have 5 seconds to undo this action by pressing Undo before the message is permanently deleted.
Related resources:
Ar tai atsakė į jūsų klausimą?
Taip
Ne