How to react to channel updates
Web and Desktop
Note: WhatsApp Channels has begun rolling out but isn't available to everyone yet.
Join the waitlist to be notified when WhatsApp Channels is available to you.
Where Channels is available, we're rolling out new features gradually. Some features, like being able to create a channel, might not be available to you yet.
Share how you feel about a channel update by reacting with emojis. Anyone viewing a channel, including channel admins, can react with emojis.
Channel admins may be able to see limited profile information next to the emoji you choose:
- Your profile photo may be visible next to your emoji, depending on your privacy settings. Learn how to change your profile photo visibility and other privacy settings here.
- Your profile name will also be visible to channel admins who're contacts.
People viewing a channel, including other followers, only see how many reactions an update has and the count of each type of emoji shared. They won't see what emoji you chose.
You can view the number of reactions by tapping the emojis at the bottom of an update. It's not possible to hide reactions or reaction counts.
How to add, change, and remove emoji reactions
You can add or remove a reaction to any updates made in the past 30 days.
- Add a reaction: To add a reaction to an update, hover over the update you want to react to, and then click the emoji icon and choose one. You can also click > React.
- Change your reaction: You can change your reaction to a different emoji by hovering over the update you want to react to, clicking the emoji icon, and choosing a new one.
- Remove a reaction: Remove a reaction from an update by hovering over the update you reacted to and clicking the emoji you reacted with to remove it.
- By default you can react to an update with any emoji, but admins can limit this to the default set.
- You can only add one reaction per update.
- Even if you choose to unfollow a channel, your reactions to channel content aren't deleted.
- Channel admins might see your reaction before you remove it or if removing it wasn't successful. You won't be notified if removing a reaction wasn't successful.